AIA Executive Board: AIA sports at all levels are cancelled for the remainder of the school year.

Don Ketchum
Former Staff Writer,

Thunderbird, Mogollon reign in wrestling

February 14, 2011 by Don Ketchum, AZPreps365

By Don Ketchum
Phoenix Thunderbird won the new Division III wrestling title and Heber Mogollon captured the new Division IV crown on Saturday (Feb. 12) at Tim’s Toyota Center in Prescott Valley.
Tucson Sunnyside won the Division I title and Tucson Ironwood Ridge the Division II title on Friday night (Feb. 11).
Thunderbird outlasted perennial powers Safford and Cottonwood Mingus to earn its title. Jacob Graham (160 pounds) was the Chiefs’ only individual winner, but the team also had two runners-up – Tyler Lowey (171) and Kevin Young.
Mingus, Rio Rico, Safford and Tucson Amphitheater rounded out the top five.
In Division IV, Morenci, Camp Verde, St. Johns and Round Valley completed the top five behind Mogollon.
Here are some individual winners from Phoenix and northern Arizona . . .
Division I
145 pounds – Mikey Contreras, Anthem Boulder Creek. 189 – John DeVito, Phoenix Sandra Day O’Connor.
Division II
103 – Mikah Trejo, Phoenix Moon Valley. 112 – Doug Cortez, Glendale Apollo. 189 – Michael Holwell, Glendale. Hwt. – Luke Braun, Phoenix Shadow Mountain.
Division III
103 – Gabe Galaviz, Flagstaff Coconino. 140 – Ben Lee, Payson. 145 – Logan Addis, Mingus. 152 – Justin Zaske, Mingus. 160 – Jacob Graham, Thunderbird. 189 – Kevin Henderson, Lakeside Blue Ridge. 215 – Matt Chavez, Mingus. Hwt. – Terrence Cook, Bullhead City Mohave.
Division IV
112 – Ryder Nielson, St. Johns. 119 – Dallyn Despain, Mogollon. 125 – Smiley Beecroft, Mogollon. 130 – R.J. Alvarado, Holbrook. 135 – Dan Gaylor, Mogollon. 140 – Mitchell Udall, Round Valley. 145 – Remington Baldwin, Joseph City. 152 – Josh Hatch, Holbrook. 171 – Boone Baker, Mogollon. 215 – Lloyd Lewis, Scottsdale Salt River.